Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church


Seven ordained deacons at Saint Meinrad

April 28, 2014


Photo: Andrew Syberg, from left, Hiep Nguyen, Adam Ahern, Michael Keucher, Archbishop Joseph Tobin, Br. Philippe Tchalou, OSB, Gerard Carrillo, and Br. Luke Waugh, OSB, pose for a portrait after the ordination ceremony on April 26.


Seven seminarians studying at Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology received the order of deacon from the Most Rev. Joseph Tobin, archbishop of Indianapolis, at the Archabbey Church in St. Meinrad, IN, on April 26.

The newly ordained deacons are Adam Ahern, Michael Keucher and Andrew Syberg, all of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis; Gerard Carrillo and Hiep Nguyen, Diocese of Cheyenne; Br. Philippe Tchalou, OSB, Monastere de l'Incarnation, Togo, West Africa; and Br. Luke Waugh, OSB, Saint Meinrad Archabbey.

Other members of the class will be ordained at various times in their respective dioceses.

In the Catholic faith, a deacon can preach, baptize, witness marriages, offer Communion to the sick and aged, and perform other ministerial duties. The newly ordained deacons are transitional deacons, meaning they are preparing for ordination to the priesthood. Many Catholic dioceses also have permanent deacons, who carry out the same role, but are not studying for the priesthood.

The seminarians attend Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology, which offers initial and ongoing formation for priests, permanent deacons and lay ministers. The school is operated by the Benedictine monks of Saint Meinrad Archabbey.