Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church


73 earn degrees from Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology

May 14, 2012

News Release-GraduationGraduates of Saint Meinrad Seminary and School of Theology, St. Meinrad, IN, were awarded master's degrees on May 11 and 12. Graduates accepted their diplomas from the Rt. Rev. Justin DuVall, OSB, archabbot of Saint Meinrad Archabbey and chairman of the school's Board of Trustees.

The graduation address was given by Bishop Paul Etienne of the Diocese of Cheyenne, WY. A Tell City, IN, native, Bishop Etienne served as a priest of the Archdiocese of Indianapolis until his appointment as bishop in 2009.

"Our challenge today, your challenge today as you go forth from this 'holy hill' as leaders in the Church, particularly as catechists, teachers and preachers, is to help people, first and most importantly, to have this encounter with the living Christ," he told the graduates. "The great challenge in our Church today is to help our people live with a strong coherence between faith and every aspect of life."

Receiving Master of Divinity degrees were:

Crispine Adongo and Robert Wessman, Glenmary Home Missioners;

Anthony Baker, OSB, Assumption Abbey;

Romain Botta, OSB, Monastere de l'Incarnation,Togo;

Drew Braun, Seth Gogolin and Brian Lederer, Diocese of Duluth;

Jerry Byrd, Archdiocese of Indianapolis;

Mauricio Carrasco,Juan Manjarrez and Alejandro Puello, Diocese of Little Rock;

Dustin Collins, Diocese of Knoxville;

Brian Emmick and Jeffrey Read, Diocese of Evansville;

Patrick Hirtz and Dexter Noblefranca, Diocese of Memphis;

Guerric Letter, OSB, Conception Abbey;

Jacob Niemand, Diocese of New Ulm;

Dominic Petan and Travis Stephens, Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana;

Stuart Priddy, Archdiocese of Louisville.


Receiving Master of Arts in Catholic Philosophical Studies degrees were:

Jose Caballero Andrade, Joseph Chan and Paul Goergen, Diocese of Little Rock;

Jeremiah Carter, Archdiocese of Mobile;

Charles Dunn, Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau;

Kelly Edwards, Archdiocese of Oklahoma City;

Anthony Hollowell, Douglas Hunter and Matthew Tucci, Archdiocese of Indianapolis;

John Lijana, Diocese of Lexington;

Alexander McGauley, Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana;

Robert Raley, Archdiocese of Louisville;

Adam Royal, Diocese of Knoxville;

Matthew Solyntjes, Diocese of Sioux City;

Philippe Tchalou, OSB, Monastere de l'Incarnation,Togo.


Receiving Master of Arts degrees in Theology were:

Edward Berghausen, Stephen Bowling and Joshua Kusch, Louisville, KY;

Catherine Diaz, Mt. Vernon, IL;

Brian Edwards, Nashville,TN;

Steven Eischens, Alma, IL;

Maureen Grant, Indianapolis, IN;

James Hubbman, St. Peters, MO;

Kevin Johnson, Roswell, GA;

David Miller, Mt.Carmel, IL;

George Rahman,West Terre Haute, IN;

George Sanders, Hot Springs, AR;

Donna Wenstrup, Bloomington, IN;

Jeffrey Wethington, Borden, IN.


Receiving Master of Theological Studies degrees were:

Arlene Bowyer, Rossville, IN;

Mary Chasteen, Greenwood, IN;

Minh Duong and Hai Nguyen, Epworth, IA;

Shayne Duvall and P. Stephan Phelps, Louisville, KY;

Adam Edwards, OSB, and Francis Wagner, OSB, St. Meinrad, IN;

John Evans, Depauw, IN;

Lisa Foster, Evansville, IN;

Neil Galbraith, Ann Arbor, MI;

Nancy Greenwell, Owensboro, KY;

William Hill, Nashville, TN;

Philip Johnson, Monteagle, TN;

Gregory Karn, Antioch, TN;

Michelle King, Morton, IL;

Stephen Mattern, Brimfield, IL;

Andrew Proctor, Indianapolis, IN;

Barry Reinholz, Hillsboro, OH;

Margaret Schroeder, Alexandria, MN;

Beverly Schweiss, Newburgh, IN;

Leonardo Soncaire, Nassau, Bahamas;

Kateri Visocky, FSE, Meriden, CT.

The Seminary and School of Theology also awarded certificates in supervision to Therese Brennan, Louisville, KY; and Donna Schueler Murphy, Owensboro, KY; in homiletics; and Philip Johnson, Monteagle, TN; Michelle King, Morton, IL; and Dr. Damian Zynda, Webster, NY; in pastoral care and counseling.