Saint Meinrad Seminary & School of Theology

Formation and Education for the Life of the Church

Retreats

Print Page

Perhaps you're interested in learning how Scripture, prayer, Benedictine wisdom or how art can inspire your spirituality. Saint Meinrad offers a variety of monk-led retreats during the year - on these and other topics.

Three-day retreats are offered on weekends (Friday evening through Sunday noon) or during the week (Tuesday evening through Thursday noon).

To register online, begin by clicking on the title of the retreat that interests you.

Upcoming Retreats

  • Tuesday, August 22 - Thursday, August 24, 2017

    Pray Your Way to Happiness

    (Midweek Retreat) We often think of prayer as an obligation to God. Actually, prayer is the very substance of life, the key to strength and joy, here and hereafter. This retreat is a practical in…
    More

  • Friday, August 25 - Sunday, August 27, 2017

    Beauty as a Pathway to God: Religious Art and Symbol in the Spiritual Life

    This retreat will explore how beauty in nature and art reveals God's presence and action in the world and examines the strength and power of religious imagery, art and architecture through the ag…
    More

  • Friday, September 15 - Sunday, September 17, 2017

    Praying with the Gospel of Matthew


    More

  • Friday, September 29 - Sunday, October 1, 2017

    The Bellinis: Artists of the Renaissance in Venice

    Using visual aids (slides and movies), we will explore the beautiful spirituality of a series of fantastic artists who gave to the world some extraordinary spiritual works of the high Renaissance…
    More

  • Tuesday, October 3 - Thursday, October 5, 2017

    Hail Mary Full of Grace: Pray with Mary

    (Midweek Retreat) The Mother of God has given us a mystical connection with her Son. We will explore different ways we can unite our prayer with Mary and come to a deeper connection with our Lord…
    More

  • Friday, October 13 - Sunday, October 15, 2017

    Reading the Scriptures

    This retreat will explore various ways to read the bible stories and look for their meaning for us today. Often this is called lectio divina - the ancient practice of reading the Scriptures,…
    More

  • Monday, October 16 - Friday, October 20, 2017

    Discipleship and Ministry According to the Gospel of John

    (Priests' Retreat) This retreat will offer reflections on the gospel of John, focusing on who Jesus is and what it means to be his disciple. Particular attention will be given to challenges in th…
    More

  • Friday, November 3 - Sunday, November 5, 2017

    Gratitude

    As the feast of Thanksgiving draws near, this retreat will explore the place of gratitude in the spiritual lives of Christians. 
    More

  • Tuesday, November 7 - Thursday, November 9, 2017

    On Becoming the Publican in the Temple: St. Benedict's Degrees of Humility

    (Midweek Retreat) "Self-exaltation leads to humiliation; self-humbling leads to exaltation." St. Benedict's 12 degrees of humility begin with this declaration of the Lord in the parable of the Ph…
    More

  • Friday, November 10 - Sunday, November 12, 2017

    The Church in the Modern World

    This retreat will address issues related to the evangelizing mission of the Church's sons and daughters, those who "are united to Christ and guided by the holy Spirit," as described in the magist…
    More

More Retreats