Saint Meinrad Archabbey

A catholic monastery devoted to the teachings of St. Benedict

Retreats

Print Page

Perhaps you're interested in learning how Scripture, prayer, Benedictine wisdom or how art can inspire your spirituality. Saint Meinrad offers a variety of monk-led retreats during the year - on these and other topics.

Three-day retreats are offered on weekends (Friday evening through Sunday noon) or during the week (Tuesday evening through Thursday noon).

To register online, begin by clicking on the title of the retreat that interests you.

Upcoming Retreats

  • Tuesday, June 28 - Thursday, June 30, 2016

    The Beatitudes: God's Logic in a Crazy World

    (Midweek Retreat) The Beatitudes are God's way of saying, "How delighted I am with you who are poor in pocket and poor in spirit, you who mourn, who are meek …. This kind of happiness can be found…
    More

  • Friday, July 1 - Sunday, July 3, 2016

    Basic Bach: Appreciating a Creative Genius

    This retreat continues the exploration of great composers who have used their musical genius to enhance the spirituality of the Christian Church. Bach was truly a master of expressing the power o…
    More

  • Monday, July 4 - Friday, July 8, 2016

    The Priesthood: Yesterday, Today and ... Tomorrow

    (Priests Retreat) This retreat examines models of the priesthood from the past and present to establish a solid spirituality of the priesthood in the Church today … and tomorrow. The thoughts of P…
    More

  • Friday, July 8 - Sunday, July 10, 2016

    Powerlessness, Weakness and Strength in Recovery: An AA Retreat

    Admitting that one has become powerless over alcohol is a bedrock beginning of recovery. This beginning opens the way to ask for and receive strength for sobriety from beyond ourselves, from a Po…
    More

  • Friday, July 15 - Sunday, July 17, 2016

    Pray Always

    Retreat conferences will focus on the essential nature of prayer as prompted by grace and guided by the Holy Spirit, who teaches us to surrender willful self-assertion to grow in willingness to s…
    More

  • Monday, July 25 - Friday, July 29, 2016

    Bringing to Life the Word of God in Song

    Learn how the practice of Gregorian chant brings to life the Word of God in song, and study the intimate relationship between the proclaimed Word of God and its melodic setting. Learn a new way t…
    More

  • Tuesday, August 16 - Thursday, August 18, 2016

    Pray Your Way to Happiness

    (Midweek Retreat) We often think of prayer as an obligation to God. Actually, prayer is the very substance of life, the key to strength and joy, here and hereafter. This retreat is a practical in…
    More

  • Friday, August 19 - Sunday, August 21, 2016

    Discovering the Spiritual Richness in the Letters of St. Paul


    More

  • Friday, August 26 - Sunday, August 28, 2016

    Living Monastic Values in Everyday Life

    The Rule of St. Benedict for monasteries has many valuable lessons for those living outside the monastic setting. Conferences will focus on identifying some of the important aspects of the monast…
    More

  • Friday, September 2 - Sunday, September 4, 2016

    Simplicity: To Have is Not to Be

    "Simplicity" or "downsizing" isn't another name for a garage sale. We will go deep inside and knock at the door of the baptized mind to look at the internal root causes that lead to external hous…
    More

More Retreats